I never thought I’d hear a better album than Blink-182’s Take Off Your Pants and Jacket… I’m yet to be proven wrong.

Take Off Your Pants and Jacket Reaction: Barker is too good!

Take Off Your Pants and Jacket’ (2001) is Pop Punk GOLD! The cheeky tongue in cheek title is just brilliant and is typical of Blink-182 (do you see the pun?). People can say that the band was better before their mainstream hit, ‘Enema of the State’ but I say shut the fuck up!! Don’t get me wrong, I love all their albums but, ever since the human drum machine Travis Barker joined the band in 1998, the band just got so much better. TOYPAJ is the best example for this argument. This album is the anthem to my entire teenage life. No matter the circumstance, you’d always hear this blaring out from my bedroom (which is a good thing because it’s awesome).

With pretty much every song failing to fall below 170bpm, this album definitely keeps you interested throughout, with catchy guitars and lyrics and drums that will blow your mind! Singles released from the album were, ‘First Date’, ‘The Rock Show’ and Stay Together for the Kids’, with track 10 ‘Everytime I Look for You’ being used as the opening song for American Pie 2.

There are different bonus tracks on certain album versions, I’m not sure how it works, but on my album I had ‘Time To Break Up’. However, I purchased the other bonus tracks, ‘Don’t Tell Me That It’s Over’, ‘Mother’s Day’, ‘Fuck a Dog’, ‘When You Fucked Grandpa’ and ‘What Went Wrong’. All of which are incredible.

I don’t know if I could pick a favourite song, but I guess for the sake of this review I would go with ‘First Date’ or ‘Reckless Abandon’. First Date starts off with a crazy drum fill (standard Barker) and breaks in to the main riff, which is simple but very effective. The verse follows with typical Tom DeLonge whiney vocals, the song progresses into bridge then chorus (forever and ever, lets make this last forever). The structure repeats until a break down with a badass drumbeat, then back into chorus for an ending. The song is textbook pop punk, A grade quality. ‘Happy Holidays, You Bastard’ follows First Date. A 42 second power-house punk track played at lightening speed with the lyrics exclaiming “I’ll never talk you again, unless your Dad’ll suck me off, I’ll never talk to you again unless your Mum’ll touch my cock, I’ll never talk you again, ejaculate into a sock, I’ll never talk you again, I’ll never talk to you again”. Great song!

Overall Verdict: Amazing album from start to finish. Definitely an album everyone should purchase, because if you don’t have it… well, more fool you.

WOW – (Worthy Of a Wank)

Leave a comment